Facebook Lead Ads is the top choice for businesses to generate valuable leads and reach most likely customers in 2024. So, what are Lead Ads in Facebook? What are their benefits? How to set up a Lead Ad Campaign effectively? Learn everything about Facebook Lead Ads in this article.
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What Are Facebook Lead Ads?
Facebook Lead Ads are a form of advertising on Facebook. It helps businesses collect contact information from likely consumers who are interested in their services or products in a more convenient way than traditional ads.
With Facebook Lead Ads, you can generate leads without forcing users to leave the Facebook platform. When customers click on your ad, an instant form will pop up with their basic information such as name, email address, phone number, etc. Customers just have to confirm the information to submit.
The display of Facebook Lead Ads is rather similar to an organic post, but it has a “sponsored” label and a CTA button.
Example: ClassPass promotes an offer of free classes in 2 weeks for customers with Facebook Lead Ads.
Benefits of Facebook Lead Ads
So, why should businesses choose Facebook Lead Ads over other types of advertising? Because this feature brings a new advertising experience which benefits both businesses and their customers.
Benefits of Facebook Lead Ads for customers
On Facebook Lead Ads, customers can send their information without leaving Facebook. It’s much more pleasant than being redirected to another platform or website. Moreover, when they click on your ad, their personal information on Facebook will be auto-filled in the instant form, ready to submit. This saves a lot of time for customers as they just have to tap several times on the screen.
With such convenient features, Facebook Lead Ads are easy to use on mobile phones, even small screens. As 98.5% of users are using Facebook through mobile devices, I’m sure people will enjoy your ads more if it’s a Lead Ad rather than a traditional conversion ad, which they have to fill in the contact form themselves.
Benefits of Facebook Lead Ads for businesses
Facebook Lead Ads help you collect valuable customer information quickly. You don’t even need to create a landing destination page to get their emails and phone numbers.
Also, you can easily download your newly generated leads from Facebook and sync directly with your CRM.
How much does Facebook Lead Ads cost?
Before running a Facebook Lead Ads campaign, it’s important to know how much money you’ll need to pay for it.
To calculate your CPL, you can use the formula below:
CPL = Ad spend / Number of generated leads
For example, if you spent $100 on your lead ad and generated 15 leads for that budget, your CPL would be $100/15=$6.67.
According to Revealbot, the average cost per lead (CPL) of Lead Ads on Facebook is $8.54. You can use this number as a benchmark for your ad campaign.
How Do Facebook Lead Ads Work?
Facebook Lead Ads work through the promotion of an incentive, encouraging users to submit the Facebook lead form to get what they want, such as:
- Get deals and offers
- Receive product samples
- Apply for a membership
- Sign up for a course/event
- Pre-order products
- Download free content
- Sign up for a newsletter
- Get a quote
For example, your business offers a special discount on your Facebook lead gen ads. Users click on your ad, submit information to get a discount code. When they complete, Facebook sends them the code in app or via email, based on your settings. Then, they get their code, and you get the data of likely customers.
How To Set Up A Facebook Lead Ads Campaign?
I’ve compiled a full guide to make things easier for you. Here’s how to set up a Facebook lead ad campaign in 8 steps.
Create a Facebook Lead Ad Campaign
Go to Facebook Ads Manager, click + Create to create a new campaign.
Select Average Facebook CPL as your campaign objective, then choose Manual leads campaign.
Name your ad campaign, then click Next to move into your ad set.
Rename your ad set.
Under the Conversion location section, choose Instant forms.
In the Performance goal section, choose Maximize number of leads.
Pick the Facebook business page you want to run the campaign under in the drop down options.
Note: You must accept Meta’s Lead Ads Terms for the chosen page to continue.
Next, set a budget and choose a start date. You can set an end date if you want or leave it empty.
Filter Your Target Audience
Next, it’s time to target your audience.
Choose the Locations to run ads.
Select Gender and Age
Use Detailed targeting to narrow down your target audience. You can refer to my previous post about Detailed Targeting for Facebook Ads here.
Click Next to move into your New Leads Ad.
Create your leads ad
Rename your ad. Then, scroll down to Ad Setup, select Single Image or Video.
Upload your image or video by clicking Add media > Add image / Add video.
Click + Upload, choose the image to upload. I recommend choosing a square image or video for multiple ad placements. Then click Continue. You may crop or optimize your image if you want. Then click Done.
Insert your ad copy
Insert your Primary Text, Headline, and pick up a Call to Action. You can see the Ad preview on the right of the screen.
Create the lead form
Now we move to the special part of Facebook Lead Ads, which is the lead form.
Lead form is the instant form that pops up to your customer when they click on your ad.
To start, click Create form.
Select More Volume as Form Type > Next.
You can upload a Background Image for your form, it’s optional. Then, fill in the Headline and Description, they will show above the form fields.
Now, it’s time to customize your Questions. Name and email sections are included by default. You can select +Add category to include the information you want to get. When finished, click Next.
Then, add a link to your website’s Privacy Policy. It’s required and will appear in the bottom of the form with Facebook’s privacy disclaimer.
Next, move to the Ending of your form. This is what your customers see after submitting their contacts. You can thank them or ask them to visit your website.
Then, choose Create form.
Publish your Facebook Lead Ad
Select the green Publish button at the bottom right to launch your new Lead Ads campaign.
Download leads
The best option to download your new generated leads is in Meta Business Suite.
Go to the Leads Center at https://business.facebook.com/latest/leads_center.
Select the date range.
Then, click the download button on the top right of the screen to download all your leads.
Check ad performance metrics
Don’t forget to check your lead ad performance regularly. For Facebook Lead Ads, you should monitor your cost per lead, or cost per result.
Assess the performance to decide whether you should optimize, scale or pause your ad.
>> Read more: How To Optimize Facebook Ads For Peak Achievements [2024]
7 Secrets To Create Facebook Lead Ads Most Effectively
Here are some tips to help you craft effective Facebook lead ads.
Make an irresistibly attractive offer
To convince people to share their contact with you, you need to offer something that is beneficial for them, such as:
- Offer discounts
- Give trial products
- Provide free documents
- Offer free attendance to an event
Be clear about the offer
You should clearly describe the offer that people will receive when clicking the CTA and filling out the form. You can tell about the offer in the description section at the top of the form.
Don’t forget to repeat your brand name throughout the process, so that users know who they are providing personal information with.
Besides, use relevant images, especially your product images, to highlight your message.
Create compelling content
Don’t think that because you have attractive offers, you don’t need to make your ads more eye-catching.
Using high-quality images/videos, compelling content and CTAs to get the best results.
Make a simple form
The simpler the form, the easier it is for users to complete it. If there are too many questions, users will leave your form.
The form of your Facebook lead generation ads should only ask for the most relevant and important information. For multiple choice questions, you only need to give 3-4 options.
Custom your questions
If you are not satisfied with the defaulted questions by Facebook, you can create your own questions for the form, using Custom questions in the Questions section.
You can select your desired question type among multiple choice, short answer and conditional answer.
Follow up with your customers
Contact your customers early to retain your leads and improve your chances of conversions. Users usually prefer the sales approach via messages rather than phone calls or face-to-face conversation.
Test and optimize your Lead ads
The best lead ads often go through many tests and optimization processes. The secret is to run A/B tests with two ads using different images or content to compare. Or try two forms of different lengths to measure completion rates.
Lead Ads Facebook Examples
Let’s review some successful Facebook lead ad examples from brands to get inspired for your new lead ads Facebook campaign.
Facebook lead ads example from John Wai Martial Arts
Wanting to generate more quality leads for their sports academy and save cost, John Wai Martial Arts used instant forms together with the conditional logic feature. This feature allows advertises to ask customers a flow of multiple questions. The answers of customers to a question determine the next question they will see. This helps advertisers filter out unqualified leads.
The John Wai Martial Arts marketing team conducted an A/B test to compare the performance of lead ad campaigns with different instant forms: Cell A used instant forms to collect viewer’s contact details. Cell B asked only one qualifying question. Cell C asked a flow of multiple questions with the conditional logic feature.
Each ad included a short video and a special offer: 14 days at the martial arts academy for only $14, for both beginners and advanced. They also reminded viewers to click the CTA button “Learn more” to get the offer.
The results showed great positive impact of this feature. John Wai Martial Arts saw a 50% increase in the amount of leads converted to customers when using conditional logic feature, compared to lead ad campiagns instant forms alone. They also reduced 32% of CPL with conditional logic feature. The conversion rate also increased by 62%.
Facebook lead ads example from Los Angeles Auto Show
To increase sales for their auto show, LA Auto Show ran a lead ad campaign to reach out to auto enthusiasts.
Their ad included a short video of their auto show, time and place of the show, and a CTA saying “Book Now”. Then offered a discount for people who booked in advance and completed the form.
Also, they leveraged lookalike audience targeting feature to reach out to people similar to their previous customers who bought tickets online.
As a result, LA Auto Show increased their online ticket show by 37%, compared with the previous year.
Facebook lead ads example from Revel Systems
To ensure success in their Facebook lead ad campaigns and generate more leads for their point of sales (POS) system, Revel Systems tested different lead ads.
They used different images and primary texts but keep the same headline and CTA for their ads. Finally, they found that using images of their products resulted in better performance.
With these lead ad campaigns, they successfully increased their leads by 619 times, and reduced 74% of the cost per lead.
Conclusion
Facebook Lead Ads is one of the most popular and effective forms of Facebook advertising today. By collecting valuable leads, you can expand your customer base and significantly increase sales for your business.
Follow my blog for the most up-to-date tips for Facebook ads. SpeedX Agency wishes you success with your advertising campaigns.